Holy Days of Obligation

Click here to view "The Year of Grace 2017 - Guide to the Liturgical Year"


Holy Days of Obligation with Special Seasons and Feasts

    2017 2018
Day Celebration of Holy Days of 
Seasons and 
Holy Days of 
Seasons and 
Sunday The Resurrection of Our Lord Sundays   Sundays   
Mother of God 
Our Lady's divine maternity  Sunday,
January 1
January 1 [1]
Epiphany  Our Lord's manifestation to the world through the visit of the magi  Sunday,
January 8
January 7
Baptism of the Lord  Close of the Christmas Season     Monday,
January 9
January 8
Ash Wednesday+  Beginning of Lent which lasts until the evening Mass of the Lords Supper on Holy Thursday night    March 1   February 14
Passion \ Palm Sunday The Lord's entrance into Jerusalem and His betrayal. Begins Holy Week.  April 9   March 25  
Holy Thursday  Mass of the Lord's Supper    April 13   March 29
Good Friday The Lord's Passion    April 14   March 30
Holy Saturday The Great Easter Vigil*
  April 15 
  March 31
Easter Sunday  The Lord's Resurrection and Appearance. Begins the 50 Days of Easter  April 16   April 1  
Ascension of Christ The Ascension of Our Lord  Sunday,
May 28
May 13
Pentecost The Gift of the Holy Spirit. Closes the Easter Season.  Sunday,
June 4
May 20
Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi)  Our Lord's Real Presence in the Blessed Sacrament  Sunday
June 18
June 3
Assumption  Assumption of Mary Into Heaven    Tuesday,
August 15 
August 15
All Saints  Celebration of those God has brought into heaven and how they model Christ to us   Sunday,
November 1
November 1
Christ the King Final Sunday of Church Year  Sunday,
November 26
November 25
1st Sunday of Advent  1st Sunday of Church Year and beginning of four-week preparation for Christmas.  Sunday,
December 3
December 2
Immaculate Conception  Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary - Patronal Feast of the United States  Thursday,
December 8
December 8
Christmas  The Birth of Our Lord  Monday,
December 25 
December 25
Christmas Season  Christmas through Baptism of Our Lord  December 25, 2016 - January 8, 2017 December 25, 2017 - January 8, 2019

[1] At their November 1991 meeting, the National Conference of Catholic Bishops decided that whenever January 1, the Solemnity of Mary Mother of God or August 15, the feast of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin or November 1, the Feast of All Saints falls on a Saturday or a Monday, the precept to celebrate Mass is dispensed. The Congregation for Bishops confirmed the action on July 4, 1992.

Although the obligation to celebrate Mass when these three holy days fall on a Saturday or Monday is abolished, parishes are to continue to observe these holy days by scheduling one or more Masses at a convenient time so that people who wish to participate are able to do so.

+ Lenten Days of Fast, Abstinence, and Penance

All Fridays of Lent are Days of Abstinence

Abstinence means not eating meat. All persons 14 years and older are bound by the law of abstinence.

Ash Wednesday and Good Friday are Days of both Fast and Abstinence

Fasting allows one full meal, but a light breakfast and lunch are not forbidden. All adults, 18 up to the beginning of their sixtieth (60) year, are bound by the law of fasting. Pastors and parents are to see to it that children while not bound to the law of fast and abstinence are educated and introduced to an authentic sense of penance.

On Fridays, when abstinence is not required by law, acts of penance, especially works of charity and exercises of piety are suggested. Abstinence from meat is especially recommended but under no obligation by law.

* The Easter Vigil, during the holy night when Christ rose from the dead, ranks as the "mother of all vigils."11 Keeping watch, the Church awaits Christ's resurrection and celebrates it in the sacraments. Accordingly, the entire celebration of this vigil should take place at night, that is, it should either begin after nightfall or end before the dawn of Sunday (General Norms for the Liturgical Year and the Calendar, no. 21).

[2] Easter Vigil 2017 - Easter Vigil should not begin before 8:30 pm CDT  (Nautical Twilight @ 8:41 pm CDT)

[3] Easter Vigil 2018 - Easter Vigil should not begin before 8:30 pm CDT  (Nautical Twilight @ 8:32 pm CDT)