About Us >
About Our Faith >
Holy Days
Lenten Guidelines
Advent Practices
Perpetual Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament
Chancery Locations
Chancery Structure
Co-Cathedral of the Sacred Heart
Additional Links
Our Bishops >
Who We Serve >
Pastoral Plan >

Holy Days

Click here to view "The Year of Grace 2017 - Guide to the Liturgical Year"

Holy Days of Obligation with Special Seasons and Feasts

DayCelebration ofHoly Days of
Seasons and
Holy Days of
Seasons and
SundayThe Resurrection of Our LordSundays Sundays  
Mother of God 
Our Lady's divine maternity Sunday,
January 1
January 1
Epiphany Our Lord's manifestation to the world through the visit of the magi Sunday,
January 4
January 3
Baptism of the Lord Close of the Christmas Season  Sunday,
January 11
January 10
Ash Wednesday+ Beginning of Lent which lasts until the evening Mass of the Lords Supper on Holy Thursday night  February 18 February 10
Passion \ Palm SundayThe Lord's entrance into Jerusalem and His betrayal. Begins Holy Week. March 29 March 29 
Holy Thursday Mass of the Lord's Supper  April 2 March 24
Good FridayThe Lord's Passion  April 3 March 25
Holy SaturdayThe Great Easter Vigil*  April 4 
 March 26
Easter Sunday The Lord's Resurrection and Appearance. Begins the 50 Days of Easter April 5 March 27 
Ascension of ChristThe Ascension of Our Lord Sunday,
May 17
May 8
PentecostThe Gift of the Holy Spirit. Closes the Easter Season. Sunday,
May 24
May 15
Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi) Our Lord's Real Presence in the Blessed Sacrament Sunday
June 7
May 29
Assumption Assumption of Mary Into Heaven  Tuesday,
August 15 
August 15
All Saints Celebration of those God has brought into heaven and how they model Christ to us  Sunday,
November 1
November 1
Christ the KingFinal Sunday of Church Year Sunday,
November 22
November 20
1st Sunday of Advent 1st Sunday of Church Year and beginning of four-week preparation for Christmas. Sunday,
November 29
November 27
Immaculate Conception Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary - Patronal Feast of the United States Thursday,
December 8
December 8
Christmas The Birth of Our Lord Friday,
December 25 
December 25
Christmas Season Christmas through Baptism of Our Lord December 25, 2015 - January 10, 2016

 [1] At their November 1991 meeting, the National Conference of Catholic Bishops decided that whenever January 1, the Solemnity of Mary Mother of God or August 15, the feast of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin or November 1, the Feast of All Saints falls on a Saturday or a Monday, the precept to celebrate Mass is dispensed. The Congregation for Bishops confirmed the action on July 4, 1992.

Although the obligation to celebrate Mass when these three holy days fall on a Saturday or Monday is abolished, parishes are to continue to observe these holydays by scheduling one or more Masses at a convenient time so that people who wish to participate are able to do so.

+ Lenten Days of Fast, Abstinence, and Penance

All Fridays of Lent are Days of Abstinence

Abstinence means not eating meat. All persons 14 years and older are bound by the law of abstinence.

Ash Wednesday and Good Friday are Days of both Fast and Abstinence

Fasting allows one full meal, but a light breakfast and lunch are not forbidden. All adults, 18 up to the beginning of their sixtieth (60) year, are bound by the law of fasting. Pastors and parents are to see to it that children while not bound to the law of fast and abstinence are educated and introduced to an authentic sense of penance.

On Fridays, when abstinence is not required by law, acts of penance, especially works of charity and exercises of piety are suggested. Abstinence from meat is especially recommended but under no obligation by law.

* The Easter Vigil, during the holy night when Christ rose from the dead, ranks as the "mother of all vigils."11 Keeping watch, the Church awaits Christ's resurrection and celebrates it in the sacraments. Accordingly, the entire celebration of this vigil should take place at night, that is, it should either begin after nightfall or end before the dawn of Sunday (General Norms for the Liturgical Year and the Calendar, no. 21).

[2] Easter Vigil 2015 - Easter Vigil should not begin before 8:30 pm CDT  (Naughtical Twilight @ 8:34 pm CDT)

[3] Easter Vigil 2016 - Easter Vigil should not begin before 8:30 pm CDT  (Naughtical Twilight @ 8:29 pm CDT)